Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Topic: Taking note of potential greatness)

Sometimes it helps to pay attention to things in life. You never know when something (or someone) you encountered at an early stage in your life might later develop into something noteworthy or even “historic.” As a musician, I have had MANY awe inspiring experiences. I have talked candidly with many stars, traveled through the Bermuda triangle, wandered for hours through the streets of Brazil and actually stood very close to the mountain that separated Tunisia from Algeria (the place where terrorists were trained). However, years ago in Philadelphia I played for an event at the convention center for the NAACP. That would normally not be considered a big gig for me, and at that particular time I never viewed it as a major event. However, there was a particular speaker there that “got everyone’s attention (including mine). He was a new political speaker from Chicago. He was clean cut and looked like he was around my age. He was announced as someone who was “up and coming” in politics and we were told to “watch out for him one day.” When they announced his name, it sounded very peculiar to me, but it was a  name that I thought was “awesome.” His name was so unique that to this day I still remember it. Ladies and gentlemen, that speaker was none other than ” Barack Obama.” Of course, if I had the proper hindsight at that time, I would have asked him for his autograph (because since this was before his Presidency my chances of getting it seemed to be fairly good). Needless to say, I never took that initiative and today I have absolutely nothing to prove that I was ever in his presence. When looking at scenes of his inauguration yesterday I marveled at his historic accomplishment and how he had risen to such heights. From what I saw, even Paul Ryan (the Vice President Republican candidate) was in attendance. I didn’t see or hear any mention about Mitt Romney. It was from my memories of that “gig” that I realized that great people are not great at every stage of life. It takes dedication, faith, persistence and maybe a little “luck” to accomplish the unachievable. If you don’t have it, you just might be standing right next to someone who does and is “destined” for greatness. As historic as yesterday’s inauguration events were, the real legacy will come from President Obama’s term as President. Great people are only “ordinary” people… who just happened to do “great” things… As for me, I realize that as long as I live I will have something to strive for. I hope to optimize my existence until I achieve just as much notoriety as our President, and then maybe one day both he and I will attend the same function again and he will come up to me and say, “Years ago I was at a speaking engagement, and you know what? I remember YOU…”

With all the inaugural hoopla and Presidential drama
It was good to see the support for President Obama
While some opponents may sneer, chastise and occasionally scoff
The Pres is enjoying his support (until at least this novelty wears off)
Years ago when I saw him in person, there was no way for me to see
That today he was destined for greatness, and one day it might be me
Because both you and I can be great too, and it doesn’t depend on your wealth
It depends on how you want to apply your principles and how you apply yourself
We all are not born equal and if we should feel like we want to upgrade
Then we ALL need to make the most of the life cards we have been played
Some of us stop striving for greatness, and that is when life feels “numb”
Because the greatest satisfaction comes from the greatest obstacles you overcome
If it doesn’t present a challenge, then conquering it is not much fun
But overcoming a GREAT challenge makes you feel so good when it is done
While many of us have to persevere through a lot of hard work and labor
The next person for greatness just might be your own neighbor
Of course, if you feel like your time is now due
Then your neighbor might see the greatness in “you”
And when all is said and done, and you strove to be the best you can be
Let the world know that “I did it my way… Now witness the greatness in me”

Muhammed Jol-ly….

WWW.Brettjolly.com

WWW.Love-notes.co

Send me a friend request on Skype at Brettjolly1

Bill Withers, his daughter, and Anthony Hamilton rehearsing in the studio with Brett Jolly

Image