Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Still love the game of basketball)

People often chase after their past. I am content knowing that I don’t have to. When I was younger I used to wake up each morning at 5 am to go to the court and play basketball. I would be there all day until my mother came and got me. I loved the sport that much. As I got older I would take out all my frustrations on any one who tried to guard me. I fired up a lot of people who “tried.” In high school I tore the anterior cruciate ligament of my knee and everything that I worked hard for “went up in smoke.” I was not the same player anymore. I once scored 54 points in a game and felt like I was invincible on the court. The reality of my injury taught me otherwise. This video gives an idea of what it feels like to be on the court playing:

The other day I went back to the court. I had “absolutely no intentions of playing against anyone.” I was there for about 10 minutes shooting alone and that was fine for me. I had played many games against “old heads” during my prime and now I officially became one. I am fine with that. Surprisingly my shot was still pretty good. I didn’t want to jump at all because I didn’t want to risk hurting anything. I still love the game of basketball, but I am more of a spectator now. I think I am fine with that. Some people “who are still around” considered me to be one of the playground legends. I do music now, and I am safe with this. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Comedian Kris Tucker in concert with Brett Jolly on bass guitar