Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (Why is there a shortage of change?)

In a lot of businesses I go to, I tend to see the signs stating the need for “exact change.” For some reason there appears to be “a shortage of coins.” You may have experienced the same thing. Why has this happened? Well, I read up on on it, and this was what I found:

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/factcheck/2020/07/21/fact-check-america-midst-national-coin-shortage/5439455002/

I know that the pandemic changed our ways of living a lot. I never imagined that a “shortage” of money would result from it. I have a “lot” of change but stores are saying that they want to be paid in exact prices (or do a credit or debit transaction). Since this all seemed to happen so suddenly, it feels as though we are trending towards a “cashless society.” Just imagine what this would do. I know of several people who absolutely cannot get paid by check. For whatever reason, they cannot take a chance on the government being able to get their hands on their money, so they want to alleviate the trail of what they earn. By getting rid of cash there will always be a record of what you earn (you can’t have credit without a bank account). I used to give money to beggars on the street, but no one seems to carry cash anymore. Can this system come back? Possibly, but I am not sure how. Also, I keep hearing talk about something called “bitcoin.” I honestly have no idea what that is, but I try to stay as far from it as possible. I started hearing about bitcoin around the start of the pandemic, so I do wonder if this was staged with it. Someone on Instagram is trying to get me to invest in it. Good luck to them. I won’t invest in anything I don’t understand. Will coins be worth something again one day? Time will tell on that one. Right now we just have to accept things the way they are. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Rapper Chuck D (from Public Enemy) performing “Fight the Power” with Brett Jolly on bass guitar