Brett Jolly’s Thought for Today (My experience with Angela Bofill)

Years ago I remember doing a gig in Rehoboth Beach. This place was a 2 hour ride from my house and we had late hours. After the gig was finished, I had arrived back home at 4:30 in the morning. I remember this so well because I got a call at “6 am” to play a gig in Atlantic City. At first I couldn’t quite think right because I was so tired. I had to go to Atlantic City to play for an artist who needed a bass player. I then found out this artist was Angela Bofill. If you have never heard of her, she was an established jazz artist with a couple of great albums under her belt. You might want to Google her. Here is a sample of one of her tunes.

The gig was a fairly early gig and when I got there we didn’t have much time at all for a rehearsal. The good thing about this was that I was already a fan of hers and I “knew” most of her tunes. When I met her she was this tall woman (with a lot of makeup). Since we couldn’t get a sound check or rehearsal I simply listened to a tape of her show in her hotel room. With my ear for music it was enough for me to learn her set. The show went well and the most important thing was that I got paid. In the years that followed I heard that Angela lost her voice and was doing shows with another woman singing her tunes onstage while she did sign language. I have no idea what she is doing now, but I wish her the very best. It was my pleasure to perform with her and I just wanted to share my experience with you today. Thank you for checking out my Thought for Today and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Leave a comment