Brett Jolly’s Thought for Today (Mass shootings. What’s next?)

I reside in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I have seen a “lot” of violence in my area. Thankfully, I have never been a victim to any violence. This past weekend there was a shootout on South Street in Philly, an area I have been to several times. Several people were shot and some were killed. This also happened in other parts of the country. Now mass shootings are becoming even more frequent. What’s next? Here is a video that examines the situation:

I can’t tell law enforcement how to do their jobs. They are the experts and they are doing the best they can to protect all of us. I can, however, make some suggestions (that may or may not help). Aside from the gun control we so badly need (I have spoken on this many times so there is no need to go back into this now) there are other things that I think can be done “locally.” I think more “undercover agents” should be patrolling the streets. These agents might be able to infiltrate activity and stop it “before” it happens. I also think cities should invest in “more cameras.” There are many cameras already in existence but I believe we could use “even more.” We could use more of them on major highways, in crime riddled areas, rooftops and in many public places (outside and inside). Finally, police can do a lot, but they can’t do everything. Drones can be used to spot suspicious activity and even follow those who commit crimes. Also, neighborhood watches need to increase. Stop relying solely on police and use block captains to get together with neighbors and implement their own surveillance plans (Make sure to first discuss those plans with local authorities). Things are really getting out of hand. Soon it may not be safe to go “anywhere.” If we are going to stop the violence then it needs to be done through a “united effort.” There is strength in numbers. Communication is a start. Planning will help as well. I don’t want to be a victim. Neither should you. Together, we all can do a lot more to “protect us.” Thank you for checking out my Thought for Today, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Chuck D (Lead rapper of Public Enemy” performing “Fight the Power” in concert with Brett Jolly on bass guitar