Brett Jolly’s Thought for Today (If you sing, are you a musician?)

A lady asked me this question the other day and I decided to give my own opinion on it. By definition “vocals are considered musical instruments” (Yes, I looked it up). So this lady decided to debate me even further on this. She asked “If anyone can sing “Mary had a little lamb” or “Happy birthday” does that make them a musician or a singer?” I told her “No” and gave this prime example. If I gave my bass guitar out to strangers and asked them to pluck a note that would “not” make them musicians. Granted, they may have played a note but that does not mean that they have the “expertise.” The same principle applies to singers. Many people can simply “sing” but that doesn’t make them all singers. I also referenced talented people like Al Jarreau and Bobby McFerrin. These two could “mimic” the sound of different musical instruments with simply their voices (and they both did it “well”). In my opinion, you also need to be able to “hear” really well, whether you are a musician or singer. I know of several performers who can sing greatly but they sometimes have difficulty hearing how the music goes (and yes, this applies to some “professional” singers as well). Some people told this lady that you can’t be a musician without first being trained. I debunked that theory because I have had “no training at all” for my bass guitar (and I cannot read music either). If I was able to “self teach” myself then obviously I did so “without” any training. The world of music is a beautiful thing. Like artistry it involves a “creative soul.” I thought this would be a good topic for my Thought for Today. Thank you for checking it out and I sincerely wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Blues singer Bonnie Raitt in concert with Brett Jolly (to the right with red bass guitar)

Leave a comment