Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“My internet was off this morning”)

It is amazing how we often take some things for granted, but hardly ever ponder how bad off we would if those things suddenly became unavailable. This morning I was looking forward to posting my Daily Thought but I found my internet was off. I tried turning the computer off  and on and even doing the same for the Wi-fi. However, the Wi-fi was off for my computer (yet everyone else’s computer in my house was working). Feeling the frustration, I turned to my brother, and he managed to try some things to get this thing working. When you take for granted that the internet will always work you often feel a sense of security, which sometimes can be misleading. When contemplating this, I also thought about other things like water. I remember years ago going to South Carolina right after (I think it was hurricane Hugo or Andrew) struck. Seeing how people became after having no access to clean water was staggering. It changed many people significantly. If you could imagine going one day without any water at all you might understand what I am talking about. We take many things for granted, and never realize how bad things can get until we lose them. I am glad that my internet is working now, but I am worried that something new may come up to impede my internet access again. Technology is great, but what happens if we depend so much on it that we can’t function without it? For instance, people may depend heavily on calculators for mathematical equations, but if those calculators stopped working would we remember how to solve those problems manually? When technology starts to think for us, then what do we have left to think for? Improvement is great, but I sincerely hope we don’t lose it when it comes to the “basics.” My internet is working now (and if it didn’t, then you wouldn’t be able to read this). Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Brett Jolly with singer Stephanie Mills before concert

Stephanie Mills and Brett Jolly

Leave a comment