Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Pacing yourself”)

As a musician (one who is getting older) I have found that my schedule often leaves me much more tired than I used to be. I have gigs that I have to be there for and other responsibilities that I have to tend to (and lately I have been really exhausted). Now whenever I get a break I try to sit down more so that I don’t overextend myself. The weekends are usually the toughest for me, mainly because each Sunday morning I have to be in church for 2 long services “starting at 7:45 am.” Most times when I have a late night gig on Saturday I get in late (the last 2 Saturdays I actually got home around 4 am). When you do that and then have to be in church real early it can take a huge toll on you. Now I am doing more gigs during the week and that is leaving me fatigued as well. I have no regrets, though. This is what I wanted to do and this is where I wanted to be. However, it is paramount that I now pace myself so that I don’t fall apart in the process. Also I find that as I get older “I now get tired sooner.” Lately I have had nights where I felt like falling asleep earlier, whether I had a gig or not. I want to stick around so I will try to pace myself more when it comes to all responsibilities. To be honest, I think everyone should. While it is great to be successful, that can sometimes come with a price. If you want to live a long life, then try to stress less and alter your activities more to incorporate most rest. I played last night, I play tonight and I play tomorrow. In fact, I think I am playing most (if not all of this week). I will try to get more rest today and live happy. Hopefully everyone will follow that same formula. Thank you so much for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype; Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly with actress Gabrielle Union

Gabrielle Union and Brett Jolly

2 thoughts on “Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Pacing yourself”)

  1. HI BRETT,
    “PACE MYSELF”,.. KNOW THY SELF, LISTEN TO SELF FOR YOU WILL BE ABLE TO WITHSTAND THE TEST OF TIME.
    THANKS-4-SHARING

  2. femalewantstoknow says:

    Ask God for strength and make sure you rest when you can. Your fans love you!

Leave a Reply

