Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Pacing yourself”)

As a musician (one who is getting older) I have found that my schedule often leaves me much more tired than I used to be. I have gigs that I have to be there for and other responsibilities that I have to tend to (and lately I have been really exhausted). Now whenever I get a break I try to sit down more so that I don’t overextend myself. The weekends are usually the toughest for me, mainly because each Sunday morning I have to be in church for 2 long services “starting at 7:45 am.” Most times when I have a late night gig on Saturday I get in late (the last 2 Saturdays I actually got home around 4 am). When you do that and then have to be in church real early it can take a huge toll on you. Now I am doing more gigs during the week and that is leaving me fatigued as well. I have no regrets, though. This is what I wanted to do and this is where I wanted to be. However, it is paramount that I now pace myself so that I don’t fall apart in the process. Also I find that as I get older “I now get tired sooner.” Lately I have had nights where I felt like falling asleep earlier, whether I had a gig or not. I want to stick around so I will try to pace myself more when it comes to all responsibilities. To be honest, I think everyone should. While it is great to be successful, that can sometimes come with a price. If you want to live a long life, then try to stress less and alter your activities more to incorporate most rest. I played last night, I play tonight and I play tomorrow. In fact, I think I am playing most (if not all of this week). I will try to get more rest today and live happy. Hopefully everyone will follow that same formula. Thank you so much for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype; Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly with actress Gabrielle Union

Gabrielle Union and Brett Jolly

