Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Met with Nathan Watts last night, bass player for Stevie Wonder”)

I got a call yesterday from a man who was throwing a really big function last night in Bridgeport, PA and he wanted to feature some of the best musicians playing for this event. He asked me to be there and he explained that Stevie Wonder’s bass player (Nathan Watts) was going to be there. I have heard “many” claims before by people who said that certain high profile people were going to be in attendance (and of course nothing ever happened) but since I knew this guy had some good connections I figured I would come out and support. Of course, other musicians were there and it was a great night. I just figured that since there were several bass players there that I would play maybe one or two numbers and go home. Well, once I started playing it felt like everyone wanted me to keep on going, so I did. They even had me sing 2 songs, one of which was Ray Charles’ “Tell me what I said” and Stevie Wonder’s “Higher Ground.” The crowd loved it, and the evening turned out to be very fun. One of the first things I did when entering was look around to see if Nathan Watts was actually in the building, and to my amazement he “actually was.” Don’t get me wrong, I have met with Stevie Wonder personally myself, but when it comes to bass guitar (and that is the instrument I play) I had always marveled about this guy. I asked him questions immediately, starting with “Do you tune your guitar down to E flat?” He said that yes he did, and he started out that way so that he could play “Superstition” in the correct key with that low signature note that makes the song sound so great. He also told me that I had a great ear. I told him that I saw him once play a bass synthesizer, and I asked him whether he decided to play it on his own or did Stevie request him to play it. He said that Stevie requested him to do so. He also said that he was “the very first bass player” to actually play a bass synthesizer. It turned out to be a great event and I got a “lot” of great compliments from people (other musicians and just regular people in attendance). I wanted to share my experience with you today so I hope you don’t mind. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Nathan Watts (bass player for Stevie Wonder) and Brett Jolly

20170706_212243_1499392732194

Leave a Reply

