Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“The things I have learned (and still need to learn) about photography”)

I realize that every one takes a different approach to his or her craft. On this site I have seen many extraordinary beautiful pictures from different photographers and I try to learn everything I can from them all. I first started doing this for fun as a gimmick to help promote my music. Years ago I took a picture of a female holding my bass guitar and placed it in an advertisement that I posted on Facebook. A LOT of people loved the concept and then they asked me to “keep it going.” Well, it is tough to find different models to display all the time. I have learned that being a photographer of people involves a lot of personal skill. You have to get the best you can out of your models so you need to know how to talk to them. As a photographer you need to be complimentary whenever necessary but you also need to be able to tell a model when the image is not quite right. Also I learned that even though a certain scene may look great it doesn’t necessarily mean that it will “photograph” great. I had to make sure that my main focus was on “how things looked through the camera lens.” I am still in the process of learning how to shoot pictures with the sun behind the model in bright sunlight and how to manage when there is hardly any light at all. Sometimes the shadow effect is difficult to overcome. I have gotten a lot of great responses to my pictures, but I still want to continue to improve, so I go online to look at different theories of shooting. In the meantime, I will continue to check out all the great photography of others and pick up ideas as I go along. I don’t think anyone is ever too old to grow. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and my pictures, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Bass-toni-10a

Leave a Reply

