Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Glass half empty or half full?”)

We had a quick but hard thunderstorm here in Philadelphia. I was in my house when I heard the thunder ring loud. Then I heard the biggest crackling sound and I just knew something was wrong. For some reason I just felt as though something was about to fall on my house so I immediate got up to run to a more secure spot. My lights went out and I couldn’t see. I found my way outside to find this:

20170621_170610_Burst01

Needless to say a couple of things went through my mind. Here is the “half empty scenario:” I had no electricity. It would cost a lot of money to clear this tree off my property. It would probably be hours before the power got turned back on, thereby all the food in the refrigerator would probably be ruined. Also my bed ridden father was in the house and he can’t easily be moved in case of emergency. Now here is the “half full scenario:” The tree didn’t land on the house (or even me for that matter). The tree missed hitting my car by about 6 feet (and that would have been very catastrophic had that happened). It wasn’t that long at all before the power was restored and I am alive today to talk about this. As bad as this seemed at first, there was a blessing in all of this. Often we think of bad events in our lives and relate to them as though things are at the lowest point for us. There can be a blessing for you if you only “take the time to recognize it.” The fact that things actually “can be worse” should never be ignored. The impact of circumstances in your life depend on your perceptions of those circumstances. You can see the worst in everything if you so choose, or you can look for the light within a bad situation. If you have a roof over your head and are at least able to think, breathe and move on your own today then you have an advantage over someone else in this world who would love to trade places with you. There’s nothing wrong with being thankful for the things you still have, because there is no guarantee that it will last forever. To sum it all up in a 2 word sentence, I will simply say this: “Be blessed…” Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype; Brettjolly1

 

2 thoughts on “Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Glass half empty or half full?”)

  1. femalewantstoknow says:

    Thank God you and your family are okay, Mr. Jolly!

  2. HELLO BRETT, THIS QUICK PASSING STORM SHOOK-UP A LOT AH PEOPLE. ESPECIALLY MY GRANDMOTHER WHO’S 86 TRIED TO CLOSE HER FRONT DOOR DURING BUT THE WIND WOULDN’T LET HER. BRETT YOUR EXPERIENCE LOOKED AND SOUND SCARY AND THIS SHOULD PREPARE YOU FOR FUTURE STORMS. I’M HAPPY TO KNOW THAT YOUR STILL JOLLY
    THANKS 4-SHARING

Leave a Reply

