Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Recognizing your inner demons and battling them”)

When it comes to inner demons, I think we all have some type of battle going on within us. We could be fighting drug addiction, insecurity, depression, jealousy, anger issues or just about anything else that negatively plagues us. The first step in combating these demons is to “recognize and identify them.” Many people honestly can’t see how they truly are. During my younger years I was painfully shy. Girls used to laugh at me (and rightfully so… I was a mess). I wasn’t sure of what to do, but I knew that if I was going to make it anywhere in life I had to somehow “overcome this shyness of mine.” I remember performing for a show on television, and later on when I went to watch the recoding of it I found that I couldn’t even see myself because during the entire performance I kept my head down. Watching the video helped me to see how bad I was, but it also inspired me to work harder to overcome it. I learned how to play my bass guitar without having to look down at the placement spots on the instrument. This helped me in many ways. I eventually found I could concentrate on other things while playing my instrument. I could watch television, hold a conversation with someone, and even sing… Once I was able to conquer this it also helped me with my shyness as well. I had gotten confidence. My inner shyness demons had been vanquished (even though every once in a while I may revert back). Whether you want to admit it or not, “there is something wrong with all of us.” Everyone needs to work on something, because no one person is perfect. The question then becomes “How do you battle your inner demons?” If you don’t believe you have one, then that is an inner demon by itself. “You are too conceited.” While we all should continue to strive for perfection, it is important to take note that no one will ever truly achieve it. That’s the joy in being human. If everyone were truly perfect then there would be nothing for us to strive for. If we could just improve on the things we know we need to work on right now then that could be a great start. Get in touch with yourself… Think about what other people may have said about you or think of instances where you might have questioned your own behavior. Find out what might be wrong with you and simply address it. As long as you live you can “continue to grow.” You just might find that in the process you will enhance your own “quality of life.” Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly and singer Stephanie Mills before soundcheck

Stephanie Mills and Brett Jolly

