Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“The trial of Bill Cosby”)

During my lifetime I have seen a lot of positive role models brought down. The one that I always thought would never be touched was Bill Cosby. Technically at one point he was “America’s Dad.” He actually starred in a television series where he portrayed a “positive Black image” and was actually very successful with it. Everyone respected Bill Cosby. Now he is battling allegations of sexual misconduct in a courtroom less than a half hour from where I live, and if you haven’t heard the recent news, here is the link:

https://www.aol.com/article/entertainment/2017/06/06/bill-cosby-trial-day-2-andrea-constand-testifies/22129462/

People have asked me my feelings on this. I honestly have mixed emotions on it. On one hand, I really hate to see “the last remaining positive Black image from that era” be brought down like this. It is a sad state of affairs that he is even at this stage. I really “want him to be found innocent of these charges.” However, if it had been my daughter he was accused of molesting then I would want him prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Bill Cosby is rich, powerful and old. The potential for abusing power is strong for anyone who might have been in his situation. Do I believe that he did it? In all honesty, yes I do… Do I believe he will be found guilty? No I don’t… From what I have read so far, his lawyers have managed to poke holes in the testimonies of those women telling their stories. If they can’t remember all the significant details then that only benefits Mr. Cosby. Also, if they felt they were violated in any way and yet “still went back to visit him afterwards” then that could be damaging to their credibility as well. If you stick your hand in the lion’s den and he bites it, then would it make sense to repeat that action again? Please don’t get me wrong. I do not “by any means condone rape.” If he is found guilty then he “should” get jail time. However, there is a big difference between being found innocent and not being proven guilty. I’m sure Cosby hired the best lawyers imaginable to defend him, and in many court cases it isn’t about the truth but rather who has the best legal counsel. He is blind, he is 79 and truthfully I don’t think it would benefit any judge to put a man as feeble as he is right now in prison. The fact that he is even at this stage is damaging enough, and his reputation may never be able to recover even if he is found innocent. Let’s see how the wheels of justice turn on this one. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

The Emotions (“You got the best of my love”) in concert with Brett Jolly on bass

The_motionsE016_edited

2 thoughts on “Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“The trial of Bill Cosby”)

  1. HELLO BRETT,
    MR. COSBY IS AN ICON WHO HELP CHANGE THE WAY AFRICAN AMERICANS AND CAUCASIAN AMERICANS SHOULD VIEWED AND TREATED ONE ANOTHER. AS A YOUNGSTER I WATCH ALL FAT ALBERT’S VIDEOS. THERE WAS NO HATE AND/OR PREJUDICE TAUGHT, YET IN OUR REAL WORLD – ALL CLEARLY EXIST (DOUBLE STANDARD, STEREOTYPING) AND THE LIST GOES ON. I’M STILL A BIG FAN FOR MR COSBY
    THANKS 4-SHARING

  2. HOW DO I EDIT, THE WORDS VIEWED AND TREATED SHOULD NOT BE PAST TENSE?

Leave a Reply

