Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Olivia Newton John… One of the nicest celebrities I have ever performed for”)

I have performed for “many” nice big name celebrities, but one that stands out to me is the one that I originally thought was “unapproachable.” Recently I was saddened to hear that Olivia Newton John’s cancer had resurfaced and spread to her back area. For those of you who have not yet heard the story here is the link:

http://people.com/music/olivia-newton-john-diagnosed-breast-cancer-metastasized-sacrum/

Years ago I performed for a big program in Washington, DC for the Susan B Komen Foundation for breast cancer awareness. I remember that on this show I had to play for Stephanie Mills, Lynda Carter and Olivia Newton John. When we first met Olivia, she came across as someone who didn’t want to be besieged by autograph hounds and picture takers. We did sound check and she immediately left to go back to her dressing room. However, her musical director, Amy Skyy was still around so I asked her if there was any possibility of getting a picture with her and Ms. Newton John. She told me that she would set it up and she was very true to her word. I waited for about 10 minutes and both of them came out. Ms Newton John was “very friendly” and told me that she herself was a breast cancer survivor. She informed me that she loved the way I played and was looking forward to this show. I thanked her for the picture and she thanked me for asking. To me that was a special moment. Cancer is a tough thing to deal with. I lost my mother in 2004 to ovarian cancer and I have seen on too many occasions what it an do to those diagnosed. I sincerely hope that she can fully recover from this setback and resume touring. Today I just wanted to share my experience with you. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Olivia Newton John, Brett Jolly, and musical Director Amy Skyy

Olivia Newton John and Brett Jolly

Leave a Reply

