Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Had a bad dream”)

Had a very bad dream last night. Actually it wasn’t as bad as some other dreams I’ve had, but considering what I do for a living this dream could have been considered catastrophic. I dreamt that I went to a gig to play and placed my red bass guitar down someplace and left it. When I went back to retrieve it, it was gone. There were other bands at this place, so naturally I had a whole bunch of suspects to choose from. I’m not sure why I even had a dream like this, because I am usually “extremely careful” when it comes to my guitar. I hardly ever put it down outside of where I can see it. If I am at a gig I normally leave it onstage where everyone can see  just in case someone tries to take it. The truth of the matter is that I am so used to that red guitar and I do so many gigs with it that most times when I leave the house I “automatically” think to bring it. I have had this guitar for so long. The very first gig I had with it was something I was doing with Grover Washington Jr., the late great saxophone player. I should have bought it a couple of days before the gig instead of just the day before. I was extremely uncomfortable trying to get adjusted to playing a 6 string. Grover died in 1999 and it might be possible that I have had this guitar for over 30 years now. I know I will need another one at some point soon. The model I play is a Peavy TL6 (6 string bass) and I have played behind many big name celebrities with it. Unfortunately they discontinued this particular model but so many people identify me by my big red bass guitar. Some artists refer to me as “Big Red” because of it. Teddy Pendergrass used to introduce me onstage as “Red Geetar.” Also a lot of the models I post from pictures have held the red bass, so in some instances my guitar is more famous than I am (smile). It was great to wake up and realize that this was “only a dream.” However, dreams like this don’t make you sleep well. One day I will need to consider getting another bass, but right now I want to hang on to this one for as long as I can. Music is my life, and my guitar is my living. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Grover Washington Jr., brother Bill Jolly and Brett Jolly

Grover_Washington_and_Brett_Jolly

Leave a Reply

