Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“A scam to watch out for”)

The other day I got a phone call from a number that I did not recognize. A man was on the other line and he sounded a little belligerent. He told me that he was calling in reference to my Visa account. He said that he wanted to address my delinquent payment. A red light came on in my head and I decided to contest him on his issue (because as far as I knew all my cards were up to date payment wise). I then asked him “Which Visa are you referring to?” He then told me that by law he couldn’t mention that over the phone. I then told him to give me the last 4 numbers of the account. He said that he was not allowed to give out those numbers over the phone either because he wasn’t sure that I was the actual account holder. He insisted that I give him my account number instead. I sensed “the mother of all scams here.” I notified him that I would check all my Visa accounts and if there are any delinquencies I would call the phone number on the back of the card and address the issue with the company. I then told him that if I find no delinquencies then I was going to report this phone number to the authorities for fraud. For a little bit more he tried to debate me on giving him my card information. I told him that if he were standing right in front of me I would deck him immediately for trying to swindle me out of my money. He then “hung up.” To try to get the name of the company, I called the number right back and the phone didn’t even ring. I just kept hearing small “beeps.” Obviously this was a scam and today I just wanted to alert others. There are a lot of people out there with gimmicks designed to mislead you and trick you out of your money. If ANYONE demands your account number NEVER give it to them until you can verify who they are and who they represent. Even though this idiot didn’t get me he probably got other unsuspecting people. Be cautious, be alert and be aware. Never hesitate to question anything that doesn’t feel right. By the way, when I checked all my cards there were no delinquencies whatsoever. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Singer James Ingram (“One hundred ways”) with Brett Jolly. In the background are Sheldon Reynolds (formerly of Earth, Wind and Fire) and Johnnie Croom (former music director for Boyz II Men)

James Ingram

Leave a Reply

