Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“The joy in kid’s eyes”)

Yesterday I went to a very small school here in Philadelphia to do a music demonstration for kids ages 3 to 6. I brought 2 synthesizers and my bass guitar. I started off by playing the drum patch that I had in the synthesizers and then playing the song “Uptown Funk” by Bruno Mars. Whenever I normally play the song I sing it, but for this special moment I let the kids sing it collectively. It was great, and they loved it. Of course, I asked them by a show of hands how many kids play an instrument (and nearly all of them raised their hands to say that they owned one). It isn’t easy to keep the attention span of kids that age but I made sure to make it fun enough. At one point I lined up all the kids and had them actually “play” the keyboards so that they could experience them for themselves. I also “make up a song” about a student’s name and had all the kids participate. Finally we had the kids do dance contests in the end. I remember years ago when I was little and in school. I remember being intrigued by musicians who came to the school to perform for our auditorium. They inspired me and now I wanted to return the favor. The teachers told me that after I left all the kids wanted me to come back and started playing the instruments that were there. It was such a beautiful thing to see the sparks in the eyes of young children. Maybe one day I will get to share the stage with one on them when they get older (If I have not retired by then). Inspiring children gives you a great feeling inside. You might be surprised at what you can offer a child if you decide to do so. I would like to thank the Special Angels school for the opportunity. I would also like to thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

 

17795758_10208739770359169_7682125470008432951_n

Leave a Reply

