Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Paying attention to small things”)

I am someone who loves to take periodic walks. When I was younger I often played basketball a lot, sometimes waking up at 5:00 am to go to the courts to practice. I would stay there all day until my mother came at dark to get me and  bring me home. I loved being athletic. It was a great outlet for me. Now my basketball days are behind me (Well, sort of, but I still have some skills left). To compensate for my basketball game I decided I needed to walk more. I never wanted to be one of those adults who refused to stay in shape. I had not noticed this before but it seemed as though towards the end of each winter I would experience knee pain. Keep in mind that during my younger years of basketball I “did” have surgeries on “both” knees for torn ACL’s (Anterior Cruciate Ligament). Recently the pain had felt really bad and I was trying to figure out what I could do to feel better. I didn’t want to go to a doctor. I just don’t like having to deal with them unless it is absolutely necessary. I tried exercising the knee more. I did stretching, more walking (to help ease the circulation) and just about everything else that I thought could work. A few days ago I decided to just sit down for a moment and just “think” about it. When I did this I came to the realization that each winter I switched to wearing Timberland boots (Hey, we often have snow here in Philadelphia). Then it dawned on me that during the spring and summer the pain always seemed to go away. That is when I figured out that there might be something else. I switched from wearing my Timberlands back to my sneakers. For the past few days I have been “pain free.” For those of you who are unfamiliar, Timberlands are known for being rugged footwear made for the elements. For the most part they are like winter boots, but they are also “heavy.” As much as I tried to take walks in them, my knees obviously couldn’t handle the weight of them, and that may have been why my knees were aching so much. They are still great boots, though. If I had not sat down and paid attention, I might still be in severe pain today. I am mentioning this because we all go through things in life that can cause us discomfort. In most cases people are “too close to the screen” to see the overall picture. Sometimes making “little changes” in your life can make the biggest of differences in your own comfort zone. Pay attention to what you go through. You might be surprised at how much better your life could be from making a small subtle change that you probably felt was insignificant. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Rock and Roll Hall of fame Chubby Checker (“The Twist”) and Brett Jolly

chubby checker

Leave a Reply

