Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“My choice for best duet song… ever!”)

I had this discussion with someone the other day. There were quite a few duet tunes that were really nice. Teena Marie and Rick James had a couple (Forget about the one with Rick and Smokey Robinson). I “really, really” love the one with Billy Preston and Syreeta (“With you I’m born again”). As much as I love this song I can’t give it the top spot. Roberta Flack and Donnie Hathaway had some “incredibly great duet tunes together. I think the top contender from them would have to be “The closer I get to you” even though I love “Where is the love.” The theme song from Aladdin was quite popular and worthy of consideration, but it just didn’t do enough for me. There was a duet that never seemed to get enough attention when Jermaine Jackson and Whitney Houston teamed up to do a beautiful song entitled “If you say my eyes are beautiful.” “On my own” with Michael McDonald and Patty Labelle was cool but just too depressing. I also like the old classic “Baby it’s cold outside.” Even though Marvin Gaye and Tammy Terrell had some “mega hits together” such as “Ain’t no mountain high enough” and “You’re all I need to get by” I still don’t think they should get the “very top spot.” When it comes to the number one duet song of all time, this song might have sold more than the rest of them. When not taking into consideration the sales aspect, this song has beautiful harmonies, great arrangements, neat musical creativity and 2 voices that seem to compliment each other well. I’m sure someone out there will disagree, but for me the number one duet song of all time has to be this one:

No matter what you may feel about the artists here, I don’t think anyone could dispute the musical blend and power of this song. It is just a great tune. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Leave a Reply

