Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“The mixup over the Oscar winners”)

Let me be one to tell you that I rarely ever watched the Oscars. The reason for this was clear cut for me. While this event should be something held in high esteem it always seemed  to be “lacking” in it’s full representation to me (and I’m sure to some others). Over the years there had been some great movies that “never got consideration” for awards, and there were also some great actors and actresses that never got nominated as well. Until this very last show, the annual event usually sported nominees that were “all white.” In fact, for the 2 years before this last one the nominees “were exactly all white.” This had been happening for years with the Oscars. I do “know for a fact” that there have been some “great” Black actors over the years who at least “deserved consideration” for being nominated. There were also some great Black movies that deserved to be considered as well. I do applaud the academy for “righting that wrong” with this last show. Sometimes change is not easy, and I recognize that. A great mistake happened during this last show, and of course, it involved a predominantly black movie. For those of you who have not heard about the mixup, here is a clip for you to see:

https://www.aol.com/article/entertainment/2017/03/01/the-academy-makes-major-announcement-about-pwc-accountants-respo/21865953/

This had to be an extremely embarrassing moment for the show. If “Moonlighting” was indeed the winner over “Lala Land” for best picture then I am glad that they corrected that mistake. I’m sure Lala Land was a great picture (I never saw both of them) but in order for the Oscars to be held in high value it must be “fully inclusive” and it must be accurate. I am not saying that they have to now start giving away Oscars to people just because of their race. I am saying that Oscars should be given “in spite” of their race. If they are indeed making a conscious effort to be “all inclusive” then I applaud them for doing so. I might even start watching more. Congratulations to the cast of “Moonlighting” for winning the “Best picture award” and I only hope that this is the start of a “new direction” for the Oscars. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly with Lynda Carter (The original Wonder Woman)

Linda Carter and Brett Jolly

Leave a Reply

