Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Helping out a friend”)

I got a call the other day from one of my best musician friends. He is a drummer and his name is Ray C. Williams. He is talented and gifted, and he has performed for big name celebrities including Billy Paul and Stevie Wonder. Ray has been able to accomplish this since being “blind from birth.” This handicap effects more than just his sight. While he is an accomplished drummer his inability to see directions has cost him many gigs in the Philadelphia and surrounding areas, particularly from those who labeled him before getting to know him. Ray can actually “feel” when a song is about to change or even end. His senses are acute and he makes up for his sight with how well he hears. Ray told me that he has the opportunity to move down to Florida to play with a band that works just about every day. He will do what he does best and make a lot more money with a group who appreciates him without labeling him. He knows this is the best opportunity for him and he is truly excited about it. He is also extremely nervous about it. He doesn’t have much money and he can’t see, so he won’t know his way around. This would be a tough move for most people with sight, and yet Ray knows that he will be on his own. Ray started a Gofundme page to help him raise money for his move. I am not quite sure of how well this thing works but I have heard of several people using it to help raise funds for different needs. I told him I will do whatever I can to help him so today I am posting his account for those who wish to help such a talented musician. Please keep in mind that we all will face adversity in life, and sometimes the unknown can be frightening for most of us. This is a “big leap of faith” for Ray, but it is one journey that he “must” make. The people who were helping him get around here will not be with him in Florida, so he will have to make new friends and acquaintances, all while adhering to a new way of life. For those interested (I hope I am doing this right) here is his account:

https://www.gofundme.com/blind-Achieve-Dream

In life we all need a little assistance now and then. I am sure he will welcome any donation he can get, no matter how small. Life transitions can be tough on us all, but his special circumstances only add to the monumental task ahead of him. He is my friend and I wish him well. I will miss him, but I understand what he has to do. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Aretha Franklin onstage with Brett Jolly

Brett&Aretha

Leave a Reply

