Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought ( Caught a little bit of the Grammy’s last night”)

I didn’t even know that the Grammys were on television last night until I was called and reminded.  I probably missed a lot of the show (I used to always watch the annual event each year but the lack of great talent in the industry dampened my excitement for it). However, there were some “interesting points” in the show from what I saw. I missed the tribute to the Bee Gees. I am sorry that I missed that (and I am sorry that I missed Lady Gaga’s performance with Metallica as well). As for the things I actually did see, there wasn’t a lot that inspired me. I watched Adele’s tribute to George Michael and while I thought it was good there were parts when she appeared a little “pitchy” in tune. I think that is why she abruptly stopped the song, apologized to the audience and then started over. If you remember, she had pitch problems at the other big award show about a year ago. Nevertheless, she is  still a great singer (and sometimes singers will have  moments like that). I appreciate her realness and her desire to make sure she represented the song right. She also won “Song of the year” and while she graciously acknowledged Beyonce’s album “Lemonade” she rightfully deserved the award. As for Beyonce herself, I am somewhat puzzled by her performance. I wasn’t a big fan of the song and her performance had a weird-like ambience to it. It might have just been me but it felt like she was performing out of some type of “cult.” I can’t say whether it was great or bad because I admit I couldn’t quite understand it. Her CD “Lemonade” was supposed to be about unfaithfulness in her marriage (or relationship). It was marketed as a tribute to her husband’s alleged bout with infidelity and her anger over it. Considering the fact that she gave homage to her husband and performed visibly pregnant I would have to say that in this case that alleged “inconsiderate bastard” must have “won.” Finally, I will make mention of Bruno Mars. In my mind, he was the best part of the show (even though I readily admit I didn’t get to watch all of it). His original song will probably be a hit (even though I don’t know if it will be as big a hit as Uptown Funk was). While his performance of that song was nice it was his tribute to Prince that actually stole the show. He only did one song (Let’s go crazy) but he managed to dress, move and play guitar just like him (in fact, they both might even have been the same height) (smile). When the Time (with Morris Day and Jerome back with them) performed it was nice, but obviously Bruno Mars was the show topper. I apologize for not being able to give a full assessment of everything. As I said, the show had lost interest to me over the past few years. The new level of talent just didn’t seem to match the greatness of past performers. Busta Rhymes (who looked kinda big, so I now call him Busta Gut) and a Tribe called Quest gave a nice performance as well (there were a few political moments in the program). They also paid tribute to the past great artists that we lost over the past year. Billy Paul (He sang “Me and Mrs Jones) was mentioned (and I am glad they did… I was the last bass player to play for him). Overall the show was good, and maybe now I will want to see it again next year. If you watched it, I hope you enjoyed the program. I thank you for checking out my Daily  Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Billy Paul in concert with Brett Jolly on bass

France_and_Brazil_pictures_079

Leave a Reply

