Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“The feeling of worldwide insecurity”)

I don’t want to make this into a political statement. However, the more headlines I read about global news and reactions around the world the more I feel that hostility is eminent. Protests, anger, and revolts seem to dominate our news and views. Nothing seems peaceful anymore, and the atmosphere just feels so unsettled to me (and to others). It is quite possible that we are overreacting to all of this, but for now it feels as though too many people are sharing the same sentiment. The sad part is that even though all intentions are designed to make us safer it just feels as though we are bringing ourselves that much closer to war. The other day I read a story about a couple on vacation in a foreign country who tried to come back home here in the United States. To my understanding, they were deported and sent back to the country. Also, if I read the story correctly, these people also “voted” for our new President (and he is the one who initiated the executive order to ban these people from entering). Maybe these actions are really needed. Maybe I’m wrong in my own assessment of the direction we are headed in. Maybe all the people protesting “just don’t understand” the process. From the cabinet picks to the proposed “wall” and immigration bans it just feels as though the world is about to go down a whirlpool.  I pray that I am wrong. I am not trying to sway anyone or even direct people how to feel or react. However, I would love to know if people “actually do feel safer now.” The tough part is that our own actions don’t just effect us, but other countries as well. Things are moving so fast that I wonder if any real thought is being given to all these executive orders. Time will tell if we were right or if this was all a huge mistake. Either way, I just hope we can survive the experience. This is not a political gesture at all. The elections are over. I am willing to give the process a chance (I have no choice in the matter). However, right now it just feels as though there is a LOT of hatred going on all over. That doesn’t make me feel very secure at all. Let’s hope that through all these changes we can still at least find a way to “give peace a chance.” Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

The Stylistics in concert with Brett Jolly on bass

The_Stylistics_and_Brett

Leave a Reply

