Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“My long music weekend”)

People will often ask me what it’s like to be a well working musician. Many think it is all fun and hardly any work involved. Well, this past weekend will hopefully give some better insight as to what I have to deal with on a regular. First off, Friday I actually did manage to get “some” rest. It was by far the easiest day of the weekend for me. However, Saturday I had to play in Long Island, New York (which was about a 3 hour drive from where I live). I was performing for some type of high level “Tina Turner tribute.” I was not their regular bass player but I normally sub for anyone who needs a fill in player and can’t do a whole lot of rehearsal. The interesting part of this was that I had to learn all the arrangement to about 20 tunes (which is a lot). I had to be at the original location by 12 noon and then travel to Long Island, do sound check, get the game plan and then do the show. This took up most of the day until the time for the show. When everything was finally over, I managed to do the show and got back home around 2:30 to 3:00 am. I am very thankful that the show ended “early enough” or I might have gotten back much later than that. On Sundays I have to play 2 services at church, starting at 7:30 am. This means I really need to get up by 5: 30 am (even though I will often let the alarm go off and try to continually hit the “sleep” button. Yesterday morning I felt like I was carrying bags of rocks as I tried to get out of bed. People told me my eyes were really red and I looked like a zombie who was trying to get life back in my body. Church services go on and usually never finish until about 2:00 pm. On MANY occasions I will actually fall asleep periodically in church, hoping that no one ever sees me do it. Then finally, after church was over I had yet “another” gig to do. After leaving church at 2:00 I had to be at sound check by 4:00. The gig was supposed to start at 6:00 but didn’t start until around 6:30. Needless to say I don’t think I got back home until after 10:00 pm. I was “drained” both physically and mentally. During this process I had to learn and retain the contents and arrangements of over well over 70 songs just for this weekend. If I didn’t have perfect pitch I probably would never have been able to do it. Who those of you who ask, “yes” I will have weekends like this from time to time… I do love what I do, but this is still a job for me, and it can be draining at times. Sometimes the most difficult thing to do is smile through it all. For the record, I am happy playing music and making a living off of it. For those of you who would like to get in this field just keep in mind that it is “not” all fun. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Comedian Chris Tucker, brother Bill Jolly and Brett Jolly in concert

Chris Tucker

Leave a Reply

