Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“If Trump came to you for advice, what would you tell him?”)

I realize this is a loaded question but I wanted to ask it anyway. Everyone who has been following the recent span of politics here in the United States already knows the stormy climate surrounding our new President. Recent Polls support the theory that Donald Trump is already riding the “lowest wave of popularity for ANY incoming President. He recently reached out to Steve Harvey for advice on handling the minority community. I would like to know what YOU would say to him if he came to you for advice (and this would be on “anything”). Would you express anger towards him or would you just tell him that he is already doing a great job and congratulate him? Many people have already voiced their concerns through protests, tweets,  and public opinion. Some have said they would refuse to even talk to him. I would definitely talk to him, and I would have no problem telling him my own opinions. The first thing I would mention is that it would be very unwise to ignore the public. The anger is real and I would let him know that from this point on it is not what he says that will win the public over but rather what he “does.” I would also advise him to stop responding back to those who say negative things about him. He is quick to single out “anyone” who says anything bad about him and gets coverage from the press. He should have more important matters to focus on, and he needs to realize that no matter what he does he will never be able to please everybody. I would also advise him to “delete” his Twitter account. That seems to be the one thing that has gotten him in more trouble than anything. If he doesn’t want to delete it then at least get a representative to handle it for him. My BIGGEST thing that I think he should do is address the public with a “cleansed soul.” In other words, I think he should go public and just “ACKNOWLEDGE” any past negative behavior by simply saying that he knows he has not been perfect, but is willing to change for the betterment of the people he now serves. To me, THAT would be HUGE…. The more ego and arrogance he shows the more people will respond to him negatively. No one is perfect and there is nothing wrong with admitting that. Sometimes even Presidents need advice.  That is why they hire cabinets and advisors. Trump may need to rely more heavily on his people if he isn’t sure of the possible consequences of his actions. Right now he is under the public “microscope.” Anything he does runs the risk of being scrutinized before he even completes it. If I had the chance to talk to Mr. Trump, I would not do so with any anger, animosity or hatred in my soul. I would be honest and genuine. I would not want to revisit the past because no matter how much we look over our shoulder at it that scene “never changes.” We can only control the present and try to make a positive impact on the future, and that is where the focus should now lay.  Would you say that same to him if you had the chance or would you say something else? Everyone has an opinion on something. That is what democracy is all about… Maybe one day, you will get the chance to tell him. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly with Good Morning America host Robin Roberts

Robin Roberts and Brett Jolly

Leave a Reply

