Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Getting that urge to write songs again”)

Being an artist has been so fulfilling for me. When someone does what he or she loves to do for a living then in most cases it is not even considered work. I keep busy (and I do a lot). Many times  my interests will turn to whatever happens to motivate me at that moment. Yesterday I actually had time to work on some music and it felt really good. Writing music takes creativity and ingenuity. Most times when putting a song together I have to have some sort of “out of body” experience so that I can imagine myself as someone else listening to my own music. I don’t want to write music that only I like. I want to do music that others will like as well. It is important to make sure you don’t overcrowd a song with too many instruments. It is important to make sure that the vocals are clear enough for people to hear the lyrics. It is important to make sure the tempo of the song is “just right” so it doesn’t sound rushed. It is also important to make sure that your song has it’s own “identity” established. Now I am feeling that urge again. I would love to produce music for me as well as others. The beautiful thing about technology is that I can write/record/produce a song for “anyone” without he or she having to be here with me. If you happen to live in another part of the world but need music written and your voice recorded then you might want to email me at Brettjolly@aol.com. You might be surprised at how simple it is. The results can be emailed back to you and you can make any changes you like. I have been disenchanted with the new style of music that seems to lack substance. The quality of a lot of it feels “weak” to me. I treasure the analogue recordings of the past that the industry seems to have abandoned for a quicker cheaper product. I would love to bring great sounding music back, but it will involve some deep planning, marketing and involvement. Usually after the New Year musician’s schedules tend to die down a little bit and I should have more freedom. Then I should have time to not only work on the material of others but also put my own new CD together. I believe it is about time to go for it again. I will keep you updated on my progress. I will also need to shoot videos for my music as well. I am excited. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I would like to wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly onstage with Lalah Hathaway and Kim Burrell

Lalah Hathaway and Kim Burell

Leave a Reply

