Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Mortality”)

About a week ago I received grim news about an old friend of mine. He and I played basketball together back during our younger school days and I was saddened to hear that he passed on. His name was Tim. This weekend I went to pay my respects to Tim and while viewing the body I had my own epiphany. I had flashbacks of moments we had playing basketball together and then it struck me that time was indeed moving on. For Tim I wondered if he got everything he wanted out of his life, and then my focus diverted to my own existence. I began to wonder if I was getting the most I could out of my own life. What impressions would people have of me if I suddenly left this realm? Since tomorrow is not promised to anyone, what we accomplish today might make a big difference. I don’t think I needed Tim’s passing to motivate me to do more, but it did register on my mind that life is not over for me yet. What I get out of life depends largely on what I am willing to invest into it. “Great people” are only “ordinary people” who challenged themselves to do “great things.” Do I consider myself to be “great?” No… not yet,  but I would love to accomplish something great while I am still alive. The worst that could happen for anyone is “failure.” If I knew that I only had a week to live would I do anything different? Of course I would. However, the reality is that most of us don’t know when our day is destiny is due to arrive, and that means we can conduct ourselves as though we have all the time in the world or we can make great things happen now while we still have the chance. Tim was the same age as me. He will not get another opportunity to make change in his life. Since I woke up today I still have that option. I have no idea what the future holds but for now I feel the need to rise. Exactly what that may entail I’m not sure of yet, but if there is a higher plane for me then I want to visit it… Once we’re gone, we’re gone… I hope your epiphany is just as challenging and inspiring for you. If you woke up and are able to read this, then your life is not over… I hope you make it count… for something… Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

The late great saxophonist Grover Washington Jr., brother Bill Jolly and Brett Jolly

Grover_Washington_and_Brett_Jolly

Leave a Reply

