Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought ( “Listening to and defining your favorite type of music”)

It is amazing how music has evolved over the years. While the technology for getting a great quality track has improved drastically some songs still sound as though they were recorded in a garage. What has happened to the quality of good music? Some tracks that I hear recently on radio sound fuzzy, unmixed and even unmastered. Why would the radio industry allow that to happen? Years ago if a recording didn’t sound up to par it was often given back and the producer was told to make it radio play ready. Now it seems as though any bad quality of music can get airplay. Obviously, the reason why a bad sounding track can get played on the radio is because of “money.” As long as the right people get paid then the music gets played no matter what it sounds like. That being said, what type of music “should” people listen to? For me, I try to check out all types of music (because I never know when I am going to be asked to play it). The deep part about all of it is that now different genres are starting to sound the same. I listened to a Gospel station the other day and the songs that came on sounded like “bad quality rap tracks.” I do understand that the station is probably trying to reach out to a younger audience but the music I heard sounded like “borderline sacrilegious” to me. I do know that for me it might just be a “generational thing.” It is interesting now how “smooth jazz” isn’t really jazz at all… When they try to convince me that Luther VanDross or Marvin Gaye or Simply Red is now labeled as jazz then to me that is just them trying to “redefine” my music. As for the songs that are currently being featured as popular hits, the quality of a lot of them doesn’t seem up to par either. I absolutely “hate” when the vocals of artists are “auto-tuned.” To me it sounds so “unnatural” and I already know that whenever you see this artist live in  concert the vocals will be lip synced. The drums in some of these tracks sound like they were made of paper and there is so much reverb on a singers’ voice that you can’t understand the words being sung. Yes, music has changed, but good tracks can still be found. I find that many people are “going to the internet to find good artists with great sounding tracks.” Nowadays an artist doesn’t have to have radio play in order to get discovered. If this keeps up then it may spell the end of the conventional radio industry. Hey, even Beyonce decided to sell her music online as opposed to paying the stations to play her. I still have not heard her new CD “Lemonade” yet… Since she was considered the top of the line artist then that move was a major one. The next few years of radio history should  be interesting. It could either improve itself or crash and burn. Whatever genre of music you like I hope you know how to search to find it. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Norman Connors (“You are my starship”) Brett Jolly and saxophonist Benny Barksdale

Norman Connors Benny and Brett

Leave a Reply

