Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Remembering producer/writer/performer Kashif”)

I remember years ago performing at one of those award shows where I played behind all these different big  name stars. I was enjoying the performers but I also had the chance to talk with some of those in attendance. One of the people that actually happened to find me was producer/writer/performer Kashif. During a certain time in the music industry, Kashif was producing hits for a lot of big name artists. I was honored that he came to me to talk, and of course I listened. I was really saddened to hear that he passed away yesterday at the young age of 59. If you would like to know more details about him just check out this link:

Kashif Official UPDATE: R&B Songwriter/Producer/Artist Dies at 59

Kashif had a lot to tell me in a short amount of time. He told me how the record industry worked and how you can profit off of it if you are involved in it. The one thing he mentioned is that if you are “just” a singer your chances of getting paid are not great at all. Record companies allot a certain budget for each artist and you can bet that “every bit of money they spend on an artist they expect to get back.” If they pay for your video, your clothes, your studio time, your promotion and just about anything else affiliated with your career they “will” get all of their expenses back before you get a cent. Kashif said that the one way to guarantee that you get money is to actually be a writer or producer. Writers and producers are entitled to certain “fees” and often they will get paid before the artist does (in fact, just about everyone gets paid before the artist does in this business). When it comes to setting up your concert tour, the label will get all of that money back as well. Kashif was very informative, and I wished I could have spent the day with him. He let me know that in the music business all artists are expendable and you could be here today and gone today in the same breath. I don’t know if Kashif has a book out there or not, but if he does I think all music hopefuls should take the opportunity to read it. He was a really nice guy to talk to and I share my deepest condolences to his family. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype:Brettjolly1

Music producer/writer Kenny Gamble (in center wearing glasses) and Brett Jolly in orange shirt

 

Kenny Gamble and Brett Jolly

 

 

Leave a Reply

