Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“My choice for most awesome Super Bowl Halftime show”)

Yes, over the years I have seen many Super Bowl halftime shows, and while I can usually tell the ones that are more hype than performance every once in a while it is good to see a show with great electricity to it. Years ago I remember James Brown at a Super Bowl performance when he couldn’t properly lip sync his own words. There have been some great performances and there have been some “not so great performances.” However, when I sum it up I love to see realness, electricity, creativeness with a “kick behind” show. Real performers don’t just play the music. They “feel” the music. With this entertainer I love the fact that he wanted his band to be seen with him onstage. Many other entertainers will keep their musicians hidden so far in the background where no one will ever see them. This band is every bit as much a part of the show as the artist. Also, this artist “starts out” playing a drum solo (which actually was done live). I loved that and it is not something you would normally see a halftime Super Bowl show start out with. Yes, there are some moments of the band pretending to play to the tape, but for the most part the vocals were live and the energy was real. The Red Hot Chili Peppers were great too (even though I wish they had gotten a chance to do more). The moves, the choreography, the arrangements, the lighting all combined to make this a halftime show to remember for all time. Today I would love to present to you “what I think is the greatest Super Bowl Halftime Show of all time:” Please check out Bruno Mars and the Red Hot Chili Peppers:

Leave a Reply

