Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Feeling optimistic”)

For a while now I had been preparing myself  for the worst. My 84 year old father suffered from diabetes and was falling a lot around the house. On many occasions he had to be picked up just to do something simple like go to the bathroom. It has been about 2 months now since the doctors told him he had to report to the hospital immediately and that he stood a real chance of losing his leg. Pop didn’t want to go. My brother and I told him he had no option. While I realize that no one wants to be tested, prodded and poked under hospital supervision it was a necessity in his case. The threat was “very” real. Even though he is still not out of the woods yet, the latest prognosis we got on him was that his leg seemed to be responding to the treatments and that he may well be on the way to recovery. That was really encouraging to hear. While I don’t know a lot about diabetes I do know that I already lost several friends to it. Two of them were around my age. When you have a life threatening ailment the most important thing for you to do is get checked and get informed. Knowledge can help you through a crisis. No one lives forever. Sooner or later something is going to get us, but your quality of life can be improved by doing the things that you know you need to do. Pop would often wait until no one was around to sneak a piece of cake. He also would smuggle ice cream when he knew he was not supposed to do so. Pop has been in the hospital for a while now. He wants to come home. I told him yesterday that if he can do the rehabilitation that the doctors want him to do then his chances of coming home sooner will be greatly increased. I already knew that he was giving the staff a hard time when it came to standing up and trying to take a few steps. I just let him know that his destiny is now in his hands. If he really wants to come home bad enough then it is up to him to “prove it.” Once he is able to start walking again they should let him leave. No, this does not mean that he is completely cured. However, it does seem to increase his chances that he may be around for his 85th birthday in October. “That” would be a blessing we would love to receive… Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

blues singer Bonnie Raitt with Brett Jolly in concert

Bonnie_Raitt_and_Brett

Leave a Reply

