Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“One of my favorite bass solo songs”)

People have asked me if I had any favorite bass solos (in recorded songs) that I liked, and my answer to that is “absolutely.” This song never really received much popularity anywhere. It was a B side cut that was not promoted much, but after I heard it I immediately loved the bass guitar solo. This song was actually on the compilation of tunes done by the late Johnny Guitar Watson (who was more known for playing a blues like funk style). Most of his songs featured his vocals and his guitar licks, but this one cut may not have featured him on it at all. I have no idea who the bass player is on this song but in my opinion he is “killing it.” There are probably bass guitar tunes with betters solos in them, but I just simply love what this guy plays here. For me a song doesn’t have to have mass popularity for me to like it. It only needs to make me smile when I hear it. This is definitely one of those tunes. If I had to introduce a song to a young bass guitar student starting out, it would be this one. Here is my choice for one of my favorite bass solo tunes. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

Leave a Reply

