Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“My own turning point in life”)

I remember when I was really young. I wanted so badly to be a star basketball player. I was so dedicated to this dream that each morning that I didn’t have school I would wake up at 5 am just to go out to the playground to practice. I used to collect the basketball cards that featured some of the players in the NBA (National Basketball Association). I worked hard, trained, and I got to be really good at it. My very fist league basketball game that I played in the score was tied with just a few seconds left in the game and I took (and made) the winning basket. Some of the guys in my class  joked that I would take a basketball with me to the prom. Well, when I got into my high school years things took a different turn. I remember playing in a pre season game. I was running downcourt, jumped high in the air to catch the ball, and as my momentum was going one way I decided to push off my leg in the other direction and I experienced a sharp pain in my knee that was unbearable. In one play I managed to tear so many things in my knee, most notably my ACL (anterior cruciate ligament). I honestly thought someone had shot me. The bad part was that I got up and tried to continue to play. I tried to take a shot and found that I couldn’t jump at all. I eventually had to go to the sports medicine clinic where the surgeon informed me that my career was over. Even though I was able to eventually play basketball again (and play it well) I never fully recovered to the point of where I wanted to be. When I received the news I was devastated. I took a long 2 hour walk in the park (in the rain). It was during that time that someone had brought a bass guitar over my house and I asked the guy if I could hold it. Miraculously the instrument felt so comfortable in my hands and I was able to figure out on my own the bass line to a song by Kool and the Gang entitled “Hollywood’s swinging.” It seemed so easy to me, but I was still feeling bad about my basketball career. Then it got to the point where I was able to get hold of the school’s bass guitar and bring it home. I practiced on it and started to improve dramatically. Then my uncle saw the progress I was making and actually gave me a new guitar. It was red. As time went on I began to realize something. God didn’t give me what I wanted, but he sure enough gave me what I needed. Playing pro basketball was not in the cards for me, but playing music was. I haven’t looked back since. Sometimes life can lead you in another direction, and sometimes you may not be able to understand why that happened. Your destiny is where your heart is. Just because you can’t do the things you want doesn’t mean that you can’t thrive doing something else. Looking back on that day when I found out about my injury I wish I could go back in time to have a talk with myself and ease my own fears. I am good now, and I am blessed. I hope you feel the same way when it comes to your own life’s direction. It may not be perfect and you may have bumps along the road, but that is all a part of life. Embrace your potential and your destiny. You may be glad you did…

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Berry Gordy, comedian Chris Tucker, Cody Wise, Kool and the gang with Brett Jolly in concert

Berry Gorday, Kool and Brett

Leave a Reply

