Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“The power you can get from Google”)

A friend of mine who does music recording called me the other day and asked if I knew of someone who could teach him a little more about being a sound engineer. I told him that most of the professional people I know of are too busy to teach and nowadays most people do their own recording in the comforts of their own home. However, if he wanted to learn I had the “perfect tutor” for him.  When he asked “Who?’ I simply replied”Google and Youtube.” Technology has now advanced to the point where just about “anything” you wish to learn can be found on these 2 media. The great thing about Youtube is that you can usually find a complete video instruction on “whatever it is you want to know.” I did tell him that “not all of the things you find will be right or correct” but if you view enough tutorials you are sure to discover more than enough information to improve your craft. The other day I went into Youtube to find new information about recording and was surprised to discover “all the things I never knew.” If you think you are too old to learn new tricks then Google (and Youtube) should be the thing for you. A while I ago I Googled “how to play the bass parts to certain songs” and lo and behold their were other bass players showing how to play the bass parts to certain songs. Some of them were wrong but it was still interesting just to see them there. “Knowledge is power.” What you know can give you a great advantage over others who don’t. If you know how to utilize your intellect and increase it your chances of accomplishment should be “greatly enhanced.” We learn from each other so no matter how much you think you know it may be surprising to at least check out what others are doing. I plan to check out Youtube and Google a lot more in my efforts to to achieve my greatest potential. If you have time I hope you can manage to see it for yourself. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Gary US Bonds with Brett Jolly performing in concert

Gary_Us_Bonds_and_Brett_2

Leave a Reply

