Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“After paying your debt to society”)

Yesterday I was in church playing for my normal Sunday services. During the break between services a man came up to me to tell me how much he loved the way I played. He said his name was George and that he was celebrating a second opportunity in life. He said that just recently he had been released after being incarcerated in jail for “22 years.” This intrigued me, so naturally I inquired about his circumstances. He said that he had been in prison for committing a homicide. I think a lot of people would have felt uneasy at that point talking to someone who could be considered so dangerous but for some reason I felt perfectly comfortable talking to this man. He told me that he also had “stage 4” cancer but now he is “cancer free.” I informed him that he is indeed celebrating a “second chance” in life. He said that a lot of people don’t want to trust him now and that trying to make a living for himself wasn’t going easy. I told him that if God spared his life and brought this man through such a turbulent point then obviously He has some purpose in mind for him. I told him that he was starting off the right way by coming to church. I also alerted him to the fact that there are “plenty of young men out there” who “need” to hear his story, so I hope he can find a way to tell it. I also told him that if he can manage to change the direction of at least “one life” then he has fulfilled his obligation. You see, no one is perfect… At some point in our lives we all make mistakes that we wish we could go back in time to erase. Some mistakes just happen to have bigger costs than others. When we make mistakes, just about everyone “wants” to be forgiven. While the Lord above forgives us for our sins, we as a people are not always as generous. I told this man that he may have a rough road ahead of him, but if he has survived  22 years of jail and cancer then he can surely deal with what’s ahead of him now. I told him that is is not how you start, but how you finish that determines the true success of life. His final judgment won’t come from anyone on “this realm.” He informed me that there were “so many greatly talented men in prison” with hopes of one day getting back to the outside world. One of them was an old childhood friend of mine. In the end, I gave him this final thought: Just imagine if he had died from cancer, and had to meet his maker for a final judgment day. If indeed he had the chance to speak to the Almighty and asked for a second chance to turn his life around, then today would actually “be” his second chance… What happens here will depend solely on him. He smiled and said that he really appreciated talking to me. I told him that the pleasure was “likewise.” We both uplifted “each other.” If you are going through a rough time in your life, I only hope that you can find the resolve to “see the finish line.” You may not be the first one to make it there and win the race, but you only need to complete this race in order to feel accomplishment. George can now see it, and I can see it for him, and I wished him good luck… Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

The Emotions (“You got the best of my love” and “Boogie Wonderland”) and Brett Jolly in concert

The_motionsE016_edited

Leave a Reply

