Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“A great question asked of me”)

A young student approached me the other day about a high school assignment he needed to complete for his class. The name of the event is called “Shadow Day” and for this day he is supposed to spend 7 quality hours with a professional in his chosen field and learn about the business. Well, this young man was a singer who actually has dreams of owning a record label and the person he chose for his assignment was “me.” We got together the other day for his initiation but could only spend about  2 of those hours together. When we met he asked me a “plethora” of questions ranging from wanting to know who was the best artist I ever performed with to my biggest gig ever played. However, there was one question he asked me that I wanted to share with you today. He asked, “If you could change anything in your life, would you?” I had to pause for a moment (For most people who know me, I usually can find an immediate response to just about anything). After taking a small moment, I looked back at him and simply said “No.” I told him that “everything we experience in life makes us who and what we are. That applies to all the good things a well as all the bad.” While I would love to purge the negative things from my existence I realize that many of those bad things led to my motivation to get where I am today. I told him the story of how I envied Michael Jackson growing up. I actually thought that because Michael had fame and talent and an awesome career that his life was so much better than mine. Given the circumstances of the charges against him and his death from drugs I finally came to the conclusion that wealth and fame do not guarantee a better quality of life. If I had lived his life I might have ended up with the same conclusion. As for me, I have actually been fired from groups that thought I was never good enough. Some of those people have apologized to me today for that error but it still doesn’t erase what happened. As bad as things can be in anyone’s life, those things are needed to counterbalance your quality of life. I told the student that being the number one basketball team in the world is a great honor, but if you had to beat a bunch of grade school girls to win that honor then “it doesn’t feel as fulfilling. ” I let him know that the greatest satisfaction in life comes from overcoming the greatest of obstacles… It’s not what you get out of life that defines you, but rather what you put into it… I let him know that I am still growing and reaching for higher planes. I need to remember the bad things in my life in order prepare me for what may lay ahead. the greatest asset we all need is education. What you don’t know “can” hurt you. All in all, we had a good day together but we will be getting back together to fill the rest of the hours. I hope you don’t mind, but I wanted to share my experience with you today. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer…

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Chuck Jackson (He sang the classic hit “Any Day Now”) and Brett Jolly

Chuck Jackson

Leave a Reply

