Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“A bad experience this past weekend”)

Had to tell this story that happened to me over this past weekend. I was performing at a gig on Saturday in a neighborhood that featured a lot of bad elements. I don’t want to be one to stereotype but I could tell it was one of those areas where drugs and crime flourished. The good thing about the gig was that I could see where I parked my car through the window. While setting up I looked out and saw some man walk up to my passenger window and look inside. I became suspicious immediately and decided to wait a minute before deciding anything. Then he walked away, only to return seconds later and lean against my car window (on the passenger side) while he appeared to be manipulating my mirror. I immediately realize that there is no way he should have his hands on my car, so I gave my guitar away to a band member while I “rushed” out the door. In my mind, he was up to some form of vandalism and I had “no intentions” of being a victim. As soon as I rushed up on the guy, he turned and looked at me as though he knew he was caught in the act of something. That’s when male ego got the best of me and I socked him hard, causing him to fall back against my car and fall to the ground. He was bleeding badly, and then his friend decided that he wanted to fight me, so he rushed me and pushed me against a car. I immediately realize that now is the time to defend myself, so I squared up into fighting stance while he attempted to throw a punch. The problem was that he didn’t have enough behind it to connect, whereas I “did.” I socked him as well, and then it was a full blown melee in the street. At one point I had about 3 guys who wanted to fight me at the same time. While I diverted my attention to one guy, the other sneaked up behind me to sucker punch me from behind. It was time for me to sock him as well. I told them to give me one man at a time, and then I would beat “them all down in order.” It didn’t take a lot of time for the police to arrive to sort out the mess. The officers knew automatically that I was not the instigator of this situation and they quickly dispersed the crowd. I am writing about this today because even though I feel proud of myself from a male ego standpoint, I could have gotten myself or someone else killed. I was incensed from the moment I saw him messing with my car and “all rationality left me” at that point. When I got back into the gig the audience actually “applauded” me (which felt good) but I know in my mind and heart that I need to fight smarter in those types of situations. The good news is that I am still alive today (a little sore though… I feels like I played a basketball game or something). One of the guys I hit had to be rushed to the hospital and I firmly believe that the others would have followed suit if we had fought long enough. Truth be told, I am too old to be fighting in the streets, but I just “lost it” when I felt someone was trying to violate me in regards to my car. The guys in my band care calling me names like “Champ, Mayweather and Muhammed Joll-y”. Today is a new day and I am blessed to still be here. We all have moments in our lives where unexpected things happen. Sometimes it is difficult to think rationally when the world seems to be crumbling down around you. I acted on instinct, and for the sake of my family and friends I need to do better. I readily admit my shortcomings and hope to learn and improve from this experience. Thank you for allowing me to share this with you today. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com
Email: Brettjolly@aol.com
Skype: Brettjolly1

Former Heavyweight champ Mike Tyson with Brett Jolly in background

Mike Tyson

Leave a Reply

