Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Prayers needed for a good friend”)

Years ago I played a gig someplace and after it was all over I met up with a gentleman who purposely searched to find me. He told me that he “loved the way I played” and paid me all sorts of compliments about my style. As I usually do, I tried to end the conversation by introducing myself and asking his name. He then replied by saying, “Hi, I’m Victor Bailey, and I play bass.” I paused for a moment, and then I asked him if he was “THE” Victor Bailey, and he let me know that he was indeed “him.” I responded by asking him “Aren’t you the one who actually replaced the legendary Jaco Pastorius in the group Weather Report?” He confirmed that to me and I was shocked. I informed him that he just replaced the world’s greatest bass player and if anything I should be the one complimenting him. We immediately struck a good friendship, and even though I have not been able to see a lot of him over the years he always remembered me (and vice versa). Well, I just found out that his health has not been good, and I am saddened to hear that he had to give up playing to dedicate his life to getting better. Here is an article on the current condition of bassist Victor Bailey:

http://www.bassplayer.com/artists/1171/victor-bailey-battles-muscular-dystrophy/54828

I realize that in life no one gets to “play forever.” No one can stay at 100 % because at some point we all deteriorate. Victor inspired me with his words and I will never forget that. While hope is not lost for him, prayers are still needed. I wanted to share this because at some point in our lives “all of us” will be in need of prayer. We can’t cure the world but we might be able to make a difference somewhere. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com
Email: Brettjolly@aol.com
Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly in concert

Brett 7165

Leave a Reply

