Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“A very special birthday for a very special man in my life”)

Yesterday was personal for me, even though it really wasn’t even about me. My father, Elton Jolly, turned 84 years old yesterday. When I reflect back to my younger years as a little child, I remember questioning my father a lot about “everything.” He “always” took the time to explain things, and he always appeared credible in his answers. He not only explained things well, but he would often go into intricate detail. He also had a very high profile gig. He was one of the “big wigs” for OIC (Opportunities Industrialization Centers) formed by the late Reverend Leon Sullivan. Through this organization, Pop traveled everywhere. He would often hang with people like Andrew Young, Vernon Jordan, Benjamine Hooks, Coretta Scott King and her husband, Martin Luther King. We actually have pictures of him with Presidents Richard Nixon, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, Gerald Ford, George Bush (the elder one) and he even has a picture with Hillary Clinton. Pop managed our baseball team, and whenever we would have a game Pop would “just barely” make the game in time after arriving back home by plane from some far off place. He would be in his suit. We won the championship under him (I was the pitcher). Now the years have seen Pop go through rough roads, but his mind is still sharp and he is still full of wisdom. To me he will always be the greatest man I have ever known, and I hope his “next 84 years of life are just as great. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always, I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com
Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Pop 1

Skype: Brettjolly1

Leave a Reply

