Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought ( “Should you be expected to work for the church for free?”)

This story starts from right after I parted ways with the original music ministry that I was with for well over a decade. I always loved playing Gospel music on Sunday mornings, and when that came to an end it felt really different for me. A lady who knew of my situation told me that I should come to her church. However, I knew that her church already had a complete music ministry there and they didn’t have a need for another bass player. She insisted that I come anyway and I had to specifically explain to her that I was looking to join a music ministry where I could get “paid” for my services (since that was what I was used to) . Well, for some reason, she felt highly insulted, and she vehemently told others that I should “donate” my services to the church “for free… NOT for the money.” Word got back to me, and while I never addressed it with her personally I figured I would address it “here.” Yes, there is nothing wrong with donating your services for free to a church if that is what you feel. However, we all need to keep in mind that the church is a business just like any other entity. It needs money (and it needs to spend money) in order to survive. Those people who conduct business with the church get paid (just like anyone else). The “pastors themselves” get paid (they need to make a living as well). If everyone else is getting paid for their services, then why should I do it for free? I’m sure there are others out there who may think the same way as this lady, but are they being realistic in their assessments? I always value the opinion of others, but that doesn’t mean that I will agree with everyone. I found a new church home that I really love. The spirit there is awesome and the pastor is a great motivator who really knows how to deliver the Word. Truth be told, I believe that God looked out for me and blessed me with this new church home. Yes, I am getting paid for it, but I am also getting my share of God’s prophecies. I have no regrets whatsoever about leaving my old church for what I feel is a “much better situation.” God many not always give us what we want, but He surely gave me what I “needed.” If I ever get to speak to this lady about this situation, I will surely relate it to her just like I am doing here. I am in church on Sunday mornings, and yes, I am getting paid to be there. What this lady doesn’t realize is that I am getting paid “in more ways than just one.” Hey, if you are looking for employment, what better place to work than in the church anyway? Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com
Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Baby Washington, Mabel Johns and Maxine Brown administering the Gospel with Brett Jolly in concert

Gospel_and_Brett
Skype: Brettjolly1

Leave a Reply

