Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Being a good parent for your grown kids”)

My youngest daughter is in college, and I am one of those parents who “always wants to make sure that my kids know they can talk to me about anything.” I “never” want to be one of those parents who just “dictates to kids” and never listens… My daughter and I talk from time to time, but she also reaches out to me for advice. There is a boy that she has some attraction to, and she thinks he is attracted to her as well. They have been talking, but she told me recently that the texts between them have not been as frequent. As a parent I felt my first responsibility was to listen to her entirely before saying anything. Sometimes kids just need to vent and not be interrupted. I always give my kids the chance to say whatever they feel. After she finished I told her that relationships go “both ways.” If he is truly interested in you then he will also miss the communication if you “stop texting him back.” I let her know that sometimes men get complacent in their ways, and often they may take things for granted. The best thing she can do is have “other alternatives and not wait around for him.” I am not saying that she should date other boys, but she does not need to be dependent on a relationship with any man (and NEVER let your studies slip over a relationship). When it comes to love we all have feelings from the heart. However, it is extremely important to make sure that the other person has the same feelings for you. There is absolutely “nothing wrong” with allowing yourself to be “missed” from time to time. If someone feels that you are “available ALL the time” it might taint a relationship. A “50-50” love relationship is a great thing, but it is extremely rare. That’s because people love to different degrees and most have different ways of expressing it. If it means holding back how you really feel at first then don’t hesitate to do so. One of the worst feelings in the world is to totally give yourself to someone without feeling that you are loved back. I also made sure to tell my daughter that if he no longer wants to communicate with her then he is “obviously not the one for her.” Sometimes “the heart wants what it wants,” but that is when the mind needs to take over. If things no longer feel good, then most times there is a reason for it. You may want to find out that reason, but you may find that doing so will not change the outcome most times. I told her to be sure of herself before committing to any man, because God will surely “bless the woman that’s got her own.” She told me that what I said made sense, and she thanked me for the advice. I told her that is “what real daddies do.” Life with kids is never perfect, but being a good parent means dealing with the tough times when they need you. I will never shirk that responsibility… Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought today, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com
Email: Brettjolly@aol.com
Skype” Brettjolly1

Famed guitarist Steve Cropper (He played the famous guitar lick on Soul Man) and Brett Jolly in concert

Steve_Cropper_and_Brett

Leave a Reply

