Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Just who should have the right to judge others?”)

Yesterday I went to my barber (Yes, I still go to one, so you can stop laughing now) and aside from getting my hair cut, I usually have good conversations with him. For those of you who don’t remember, I wrote about him before. Years ago he was young and foolish and decided to drive with his friends while recklessly shifting lanes on a highway. Well, his actions cost him the lives of one of his friends and two passengers in the approaching car. To make a long story short, he spent time in jail, he dropped to  his knees in court and asked the families of the victims to forgive him. He was cut a break on his jail time and is now leading a “changed lifestyle” with a new attitude in life. He told me yesterday that considering his circumstances he could never ever be in judgment of anyone. We both agreed that it is easy for most people to judge others based on the “surface story alone” but in some cases those judgments could be highly scrutinized when given the background of those who actually committed the infractions. Most times we are “quick” to criticize the bank robber for robbing banks, and yet we may never take into consideration that this man (or woman) just might have  hit rock bottom after being turned down on “numerous job applications.” What about the prostitute who works the streets selling her body because of her experiences when she grew up up being abused  and molested constantly by friends and family? What about the child molester who suffered from the same things when he or she was  younger? As a society we read about the infractions committed and the first thing we do is “form a negative opinion or judgment based on what we read.” However, what if that article doesn’t take into consideration the torment this person suffered while growing up institutionalized or the medication that the person was on that made him or her react that way? One thing we both agreed on  was that “no one is perfect and everyone makes mistakes.” If it is true that God forgives us, then “should it be considered unGodly if we choose NOT to forgive?” There is an old saying that goes like this: “Let he who is without sin cast the very first stone.” For the record, I am not saying that we should let all those who are guilty of crimes free. However, I do believe that most (if not all) of those incarcerated can be rehabbed  and possibly even trained to function in society with a new chance. I also believe that we can reach out to the families of troubled youths and work with them “before they commit a crime” so that they can at least feel that “someone cares.” A child without hope is a child lost. If I had a choice between building more prisons and building more schools I would gladly take the latter. My barber got a second chance in life and he is now making the most of it. I honestly believe that others might do the same if they are “only given that opportunity.” I’m sure there are people out there who will disagree with me and probably judge men on today’s Daily Thought. I can deal with that… In the end, I know that there is only “one” judgment that “really” matters… Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

David Banner, Ciara, Vickie Wynans, The Williams Brothers, Chuck Brown, Janet Jackson, James Ingram, Yolanda Adams and Brett Jolly on bass guitar

radioone

Leave a Reply

