Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (A surprise celebrity guest appearance at my gig last night)

Last night at my Wednesday night open mic event we were having a really great time. We were featuring a musical tribute to Motown and performing all types of Motown hits. Personally I sang tunes like “Signed, sealed, delivered, My girl, and Tears of a Clown” to name a few. Everything was going great, and then I happened to notice a certain figure come through the crowd. He wore a hat, and he looked very familiar to me. Once he got close enough I began to realize that Norman Connors decided to visit us. He was here in Philadelphia on some business and he had heard about the great things we were doing at the Crab Tavern on Wednesday nights, so he wanted to come through and see for himself. In case some of you don’t know, Norman was responsible for Jean Carn, Glen Jones, Phyllis Hyman and Michael Henderson. His biggest individual claim to fame song was a big R&B hit called “You are my Starship.” I had performed with Norman several times, and he and I actually share the same birthday (March 1st). He told me that he thoroughly enjoyed himself and that the talent there was phenomenal. As we talked at the end of the night he told me that whenever he is in Philly he will “definitely” be hanging with us on Wednesday nights. For those of you who are ever in the area on Wednesdays, the event is called the “Wednesday Night Grand Slam” and we do it at the Crab Tavern (201 North Macdade blvd in Darby, Pennsylvania). As I said, it is an open mic event and we play just about “anything”. That is right….I said “anything.” Even if we don’t know it, we will STILL play it. I will explain how we accomplish that task at a later date, but I want to extend a very warm invitation to those who would like to attend and hear some really great music. Last night was magical, and I hope you don’t mind me sharing our experience with you today. As always, I thank you for checking out my Daily thought and I wish the very best to you and that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

From last night, Norman Connors, Brett Jolly and saxophonist Benny Barksdale

Norman Connors Benny and Brett

Leave a Reply

