Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Evaluating the 1960’s group, the Monkees”)

I remember a a little child watching the television series “The Monkees.” I used to be fascinated with it in many regards. Now that I am older I can view the group with a much more objective eye, so after hearing someone say that the band didn’t play their own instruments I decided to check it out for myself. Of course, in this particular video the entire band is lip syncing, so none of them are actually “playing live.” However, now that I am much more knowledgeable about music I can tell the “fakers from the genuine performers.” In this particular song I am convinced the Mickey Dolenz, the drummer for the band, is the actual lead singer on the song. I cannot determine for sure if he was the actual drummer for the track but I do know that he was sufficient enough to play it if he had to. There is a spot in the video where he misses the beat though, which would have been disastrous if he had actually been playing it live. Davy Jones only played the tambourine in this video (obviously his vocals were more valuable than his musical abilities) so that didn’t make enough of a difference to warrant any attention. Michael Nesbit, the guitar player, seemed as though he knew what he was playing (especially on certain featured guitar spots) so to me he seemed possible that he might have been a true legitimate musical contributor to the song. Peter, the keyboard player, was an entirely different story. His piano gestures made me believe that his keyboard probably wasn’t even “turned on.” At times in the video you can see him clapping his hands while the keyboard part was still playing, and that is a physical impossibility (unless someone else is actually playing the real part for him). As for the rest of the song, I am firmly convinced that he did not know how to play the song at all. Now, for this video there is also an “invisible member.” The  main instrumention of this song is drums, keyboards, lead guitar and “bass,” However, there is no “bass player” in the video. Where was he? Because of this I have surmised that these guys were probably hired to fill the roles rather than for their musical abilities. For those of you who would like to check it out for yourself, here is the actual video:

Of course, exposing these facts does nothing for the success of the group. They have already made their marks in the music history. I just wanted to check things out for myself, because now I am wiser and can tell the difference. The Monkees were a great group, and today’s Daily Thought was by “no means” an effort to tarnish their reputation. I was just curious. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Leave a Reply

