Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“When your child goes off to college”)

My sincerest apologies for being MIA yesterday (“missing in action”). I had to venture a long ways out to take my youngest daughter to college. For those of you who have ever had this experience, you can actually go through a “multitude of different emotions all at once.” I was sad to see her leave but I was glad to see how she has grown up. I was upset about all the money I had to spend but I was relieved to know that she made it to this stage. When your kids go off to college it will make you reflect a lot on your own past. I even thought about my very first trip to college. My father took me there, got me settled and then I just told him that “I think I got this.” He then he left to go back home. It felt weird to see him leave me. I was a little nervous, and definitely unsure of how this was going to turn out. When you are used to living most of your life at home and then you are relocated it can send your mind into many different directions. I was so exhausted yesterday when I finally got back home. As a parent, you have to actually “make yourself believe” that your child is going to be fine. I wanted so badly to call her last night, but I realized that you have to give your child a little bit of time and leeway to get adjusted to his or her new circumstances. The toughest part is the realization that your child is now “all grown up.” I understand that for a “lot of parents” this may be the “toughest” concept for them to grasp. Yes, your child needs to have the right to make some of the same “bonehead mistakes” that “you made” when growing up. Instead of trying to control your kid’s life you need to be more of an advisor with a guidance counselor role now. If you are a parent who is going through the same experience I wish you the absolute best in dealing with it. Whatever you do, I would suggest refraining from putting a lot of pressure on your child. The kid has enough of that already. Keep positive and make sure you let your young one know that even though he or she may be a long ways aways your child is still never alone. A new college student needs that type of reassurance. Most of all, when you walk away make sure that you do so with confidence. It just might make the biggest difference to you both. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought today. As always I wish you the absolute best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

A “very” distant shot of Chaka Khan and Brett Jolly in concert

Chaka_Khan_and_Brett

Leave a Reply

