Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Should you stay at a job that makes you unhappy?”)

Imagine this scenario: You are in a job that pays your bills. You are making enough money to account for your living expenses. There is only one problem: “You are extremely unhappy.” Many people deal with bad circumstances because they are getting paid to do a job. The question is “Should you?” Years ago I worked at a place where they were continually letting go of people. As they terminated people they would often share their responsibilities amongst those who were left. Many times they would have me do my own share of work and someone else’s as well. It got to the point where the stress levels were high and only getting higher. I told my supervisor that she was “piling on work.” She told me that it was only “multi-tasking.” I felt as though someone sold her a “bad bag of crack.” I was getting paid, but probably at the price of my own health. I was extremely dissatisfied and wanted to leave, but I struggled with the thought of starting over while being unemployed. Don’t get me wrong. I had my music to fall back on (I was doing both music and trying to work a full time job) but trying to do both was damaging my spirit. When the day came and they asked me into the office to tell me that my services were no longer required, I actually smiled. It was a beautiful day outside and even though I knew I was going to lose some income I actually felt “relieved.” I realized that I had my music, but I needed to do more to make a good living. I was fine with that, as long as I could just be happy. Many people deal with terrible circumstances just because they need the money. Sometimes it is truly beneficial to “let go of the demons that plague your soul” and trade financial stability for a little peace of mind. You never know, but you just might find a better situation elsewhere. The only way to know for sure is to “test the waters.” I was recently experiencing that with my last church that I worked for. I used to love going there on Sunday mornings but the atmosphere just “stopped feeling like church” to me. Finally I separated from the place I had been a major part of for years. Well lo and behold I found a new church that gives me a better feeling when I enter through the doors. The atmosphere is warm and I am even dealing with better financial conditions on top of that. I am happy now, and if it can happen for me then it can happen for you as well. Money is great to have, but having money is “not the same as being happy.” We may often think that it does but there are millionaires out there who are just as unhappy as they can be.  If you are in a well enough paying job that “desecrates your soul” then you need to make a choice. You can continue to “serve the Devil” or you can sever the ties and start over with a “clear mind” and a “clean slate.” Sometimes change can bring about fear, but we may never see the silver lining of another opportunity until we first take the risk of “making change.” I hope you are happy (or at least content) in your world, and if you are not then I hope you find the strength to make that change. Sometimes a calm spirit is more important than just earning a paycheck. I thank you for checking out my Daily Thought today and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Brett Jolly and media personality Robin Roberts

Robin Roberts and Brett Jolly

Leave a Reply

