Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Had no power for the past week due to storm”)

Please accept my apologies for being absent the past week. In my hometown we had a seriously bad weather storm where lightning hit one of the trees on my street and broke it resulting in the tree landing on our power lines and taking out ALL the electricity in the area. The storm was so bad that when I looked outside the skies felt (and sounded) like a “nuclear version of Jurassic Park.” Thunder was occurring repetitiously and often sounded like a really powerful version of firecrackers. The next thing I knew there was a “huge” flash of light that lasted for about a split second and then ALL the power went out. Needless to say, the area was  hit bad and live power lines were down on the ground crossing my driveway. It was incredible, but never in my wildest imagination did I think that my neighborhood was going to be without power pretty much the “entire” week. I had to move my 83 year old father to another location (along with the kids). I stayed in the house during the dark times because it is common knowledge that people will try to loot and rob you when your defenses are down. The area was very dark when someone broke into the lady’s car across the street. If I had heard anyone trying to break in, they would have been introduced to my baseball bat. It wasn’t until early Saturday morning that the power came back on, and it feels good to be able to come back online again. The main thing is that everyone was safe, because it could have been “far worse.” I hope that at least “someone out there” missed me (smile),  and that an incident like this won’t happen again. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and here is a picture of the tree on my street that was hit by lightning. Have a great day.

20150625_153339

Leave a Reply

