Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“Yesterday was Father’s day”)

Yesterday was Father’s Day here in the states. Normally this a tradition where people honor and pay homage to fathers. My kids wanted to celebrate the day with me, and I wouldn’t “dare” say “no.” I wasn’t sure of what they had planned, but it ended up with me having to drive them an hour and 15 minute to the Atlantic City beach. Even though I really wasn’t feeling up to doing a lot of walking (I am still hurting from a badly sprained back) I gave into their wishes and we drove down. The very first thing we did was have dinner at Hooters. Yes, my kids wanted to patronize some establishment where the women dress as sex objects. Don’t get me wrong, the chicken there is great, and that was all that mattered to me (I can see your expressions of disbelief, but really, I was “only” interested in eating… stop that!). After that, we decided to walk the boardwalk. My kids knew that my back was hurting me, so they did something really nice. We came across one of those massage places and the kids told me they would pay for me to get my back done. Now I have to let you know that I am “really” not used to strange people putting their hands all over me. I was very reluctant and hesitant to even try this, but my kids insisted. Well, I must admit that it was a truly unique and different experience for me, but my back did manage to feel better afterwards. In fact, my whole head felt light and airy. I wondered if they slipped in some kind of drug or something because I surely didn’t feel like myself afterwards. Needless to say, the walk felt better after the massage and even though my back is not one hundred percent cured now, it still feels “much better” than it did. I would publicly like to thank my kids for treating their dad on Father’s day (even if i STILL had to pay for the majority of the trip). Just to spend time with all my kids together was priceless to me. I felt blessed, and I hope we can plan another event this summer. If you are a father, I hope you are taking a big interest in being part of your child’s life. Being a sperm donor doesn’t make you a father. Loving your kids and being involved in their lives does. You don’t even have to be biologically related to be a great dad. That is the real joy of fatherhood. Please make sure you matter to the kids who see you as a father figure. It could make the biggest difference in their lives if you returned that love. Thank you for letting me share my experience with you today, and as always i wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

The Emotions (“You got the best of my love”) and Brett Jolly in concert

The_motionsE016_edited

Leave a Reply

