Brett Jolly’s Daily Thought (“How long should funerals last?”)

Yesterday I had to attend a funeral for one of my relatives. He was a really good man. He was a Mason and he was a pastor as well. As much as I wanted to pay my last respects to him, I felt more uncomfortable as the service went on. You see, when you have to sit down for about half a day for a home going service it can have a big effect on you. Because of the fact that he was a pastor, there were “many other” pastors attending this service. I think that most of us realize that when it comes to churches and pastors, some of them can get “really long winded” when it comes to preaching. While the messages relayed were “awesome” the time it took to convey them seemed overly “excessive” to me. The service was designed to start at 10:00 am. It was not over until somewhere close to 4:00 pm. People were there for so long that some even got sick. The seat that I was sitting in began to feel majorly uncomfortable and painful after a while, and even I had to take a break and go outside. Should a funeral last that long? Needless to say, the service was truly a good one. I have no complaints about the quality of it at all, but for the sake of people who only want to pay their last respects I think it would be beneficial for these kind of services to be no more than 2 hours (sometimes it can be stretched to  2 and a half). Diabetics have to eat at certain times of day, and there were many in attendance (including my father). The church was at Enon here in Philadelphia and it is one of the biggest churches in the city (I believe it holds up to 4,000 people). I played for the funeral of Teddy Pendergrass at this church. I just didn’t want this service  to turn into a showcase for people who felt the need to exploit their preaching skills. After a while that is exactly what it started to feel like to me. I don’t want to sound like someone who doesn’t like church. I am in church a lot. I just thought that six hours was a little bit too much. Thank you for checking out my Daily Thought, and as always I wish you the very best that life has to offer.

WWW.Brettjolly.com

Email: Brettjolly@aol.com

Skype: Brettjolly1

Teddy Pendergrass and Brett Jolly in concert

Teddy_Pendergrass_and_Brett-1

Leave a Reply

